Glamour

Glamour

photo 1photo 4photo 3photo 1 (1)

photo

The first thing that comes up to my mind when I hear the word ‘glamour’ is models posing for fashion magazines or Hollywood actors photoshoots. I thought the whole idea of ‘glamour’ photographs were having beautiful models with fashionable clothes and perfect make up. Though the visit to see ‘Bailey’s Stardust’ at the National Portrait Gallery taught me that is not always the case.

Photographs with Hollywood stars such as Meryl Street, Kate Moss and Johnny Depp had an aura, which would be difficult to describe. There weren’t that many make up and it seemed so natural that the way the models look thorough the camera made it look powerful and glamour. Knowing the model made me feel personal, and attracted, since when I saw Bailey’s wife in one of the section, I wasn’t that inspired compared with the other well-known models.

The exhibition was mostly black and white and it inspired me the way how it was taken. So, I thought I might as well do the same, so I asked my flatmates and friends who were here over the last weekend to be my models, and took photographs in black and white. I made sure the focus was on the face, and as I was doing the photoshoot I was casually talking to them, so I could get the ‘natural’ side.

What really makes it glamorous is not the makeup, fashion, or style, I personally think it is the aura which is seen from models.

Leave a comment